Is Your Business Prepared for
Earned Sick and Safe Time?
Effective Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota’s earned sick and safe time law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees who work in the state. Minnesota’s current sick and safe leave law remains in effect until Dec. 31, 2023 and will be replaced by the new earned sick and safe time law on Jan. 1, 2024.
What is sick and safe time?
Sick and safe time is paid leave employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that can be used for certain reasons, including when an employee is sick, to care for a sick family member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking.
Paid Sick and Safe is distinctly different from Minnesota's Paid Family and Medical Leave that takes effect January 1, 2026. Find our more about that program here: MINNESOTA PAID FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE
Visit the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry website for complete answers about Earned Sick and Safe Time and to learn the answer to these questions:
- What employers must comply with ESST?
- All employers with at least one employee must provide ESST to their employees. Independent contractors are not eligible to be provided ESST.
- Who is eligible for sick and safe time?
- Part-time and full-time employees who work in Minnesota at least 80 hours per year
- How much sick and safe time can employees earn?
- 1 hour accrued per 30 hours worked
- At what rate must sick and safe time be paid?
- The normal rate of an employees pay
- What can sick and safe time be used for?
- Illness, family member illness, and to seek assistance for experiences related to domestic abuse, sexual assault, and stalking
- Which family members are included?
- The list of family members is more expansive than traditional Paid Family Medical Leave
- What additional sick and safe time responsibilities do employers have?
- Employers must present earning statements every pay period
- And more...